Ahaaaa… using AHAs ☆

I am a big fan of exfoliation, I have used so many, Clearasil black head clearing scrub to soap and glory’s face soap and clarity to name a few.

But lately I have been using Botanics at boots bright radiance concentrate serum £8.99, which isn’t your usual exfoliate and definitely a step in a different direction to my normal in shower facial scrubs.

The main reason I choose to start using this serum is because it contains Alpha Hydroxy Acids, and natural ones at that. Botanics have used natural AHA’s from hibiscus plants (I lovvvvveee hibiscus anyway, even had them on my magnum!).

Now what are Alpha Hydroxy acids? AHA or Alpha Hydroxy Acid is an exfoliation chemical compound and although it is an acid is no way as strong as immediately think; like hydrochloric and sulphuric acids.

AHAs can fizzle away dead skin cells and promote and stimulate skin renewal. Do be aware that AHAs can irritate sensitive skin, I haven’t had to many issues with the Botanics this maybe because of low amount or my unusually resilient skin.

AHAs do increase skin sensitivity to the sun and Botanics do recommend you use their day cream which has a spf15, I have tried this day cream but I personally have use a spf50 every day.

I have no problem with putting creams on top of this serum as it really soaks into my skin and leaves a very light to no residue. I also adore the scent of this, it’s so floral and fresh something you really want to be putting on your skin during the humid summer we seem to be having!

I do love this product and will be buying Organise Facial oil for when my skin is feeling extra thirsty.

Do let me know if you use AHAs, have given Botanics products a try before. what AHAs you use or if you have any questions I will do my best to answer 🙂

Leave a Reply

